

E-mail address: <<u>eastmed-thinktank.com</u>> E-mail address: <u>eastmed.thinktank@gmail.com</u>

The Eastern Mediterranean Think Tank is a nonpartisan group of Cypriots, who - together with partners and allies - are committed to assist and support the resolution of the "Cyprus Problem". We have limited financial resources at our disposal but, nonetheless, we strive to lead Cyprus into a more peaceful, free, secure and prosperous world, committed to serve the ideals of freedom, political equality, human dignity and mutual respect.

The members of the Eastern Mediterranean Think Tank comprise experienced professionals, who are acknowledged authorities in their respective fields of professional activity and are willing to invest significant time on a gratuitous basis for promoting peace and prosperity, first in Cyprus and then in the wider region of the Eastern Mediterranean.

Within the above-described framework, a set of ideas has been developed, which we believe could form the core of a plan that could serve as the basis of a feasible, viable and fair solution to the "Cyprus Problem". The proposed plan is largely based on the convergences that have been attained in the past and on suggestions that have been made by United Nations officials.

The members of the Think Tank are:

Christos P. Panayiotides (rapporteur/moderator): Certified Public Accountant, authorised to practice in Cyprus, the UK, Greece and Switzerland (retired). Since 2015, regular political and economic commentator in the two oldest Cypriot daily newspapers (the Greek language *Alithia* and the English-language *Cyprus Mail*).

Lakis N. Zavallis: Lawyer. Businessman (retired), environmentalist, ex-managing director of a printing and publishing company, scholar on contemporary Cyprus history.

Androula Vassiliou: Lawyer (retired). Ex-Commissioner of the European Union, ex-MP, Vice-President of the Board of Directors of the University of Cyprus. Member of The Cyprus Institute Board of Trustees, of the European University Institute (of Florence) High Council and Vice-President of Europa Nostra.

Takis Hadjidemetriou: Dentist (retired). Ex-MP, ex-President of the Bicommunal Committee on the Cultural Heritage of Cyprus.

Leontios lerodiakonou: PhD in Political & Social Sciences. Ex-Minister, ex-Member of Parliament, Ex-Vice President of the Democratic Rally.

Serdar Atai: A specialist on project planning and project management. Has been heavily involved in the protection of cultural heritage, particularly within the Walled City of Famagusta.

Charalampos M. Charalampous: Economist (retired). Ex-Editor of a Cyprus daily newspaper, exadministrative director of a large Cypriot political party.

Esra Aygin: Journalist. Has worked for The Associated Press, Bloomberg, Yenidüzen and the Cyprus Mail. In the period 2005-10, she has served as media advisor / head of the press office of the then Turkish Cypriot leader.

Olympia Syrimi-Stylianou: Economist (retired). Ex-Permanent Secretary of the Ministry of Agriculture and previously of the Ministry of Education.

Marios A. Bahas: Senior Legal Counsel. Specialised in International Banking & Finance Law, Labour Law and Commercial & Business Law.

Panayiotis (Takis) D. Zaphiropoulos: Certified Public Accountant, ex-President of the Greek National Accounting Oversight Board.

Mine Yücel: Social Scientist. Director of a market research organisation. Active in protecting human rights and in combating the trafficking of women.